May 16, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE NEWS RELEASE



The Moline Foundation Announces 2023 Scholarship Recipients

Thirty students will receive \$59,650 in scholarships this year from the various endowed funds administered at the Moline Foundation. This year's scholarship winners include:

ABINGDON-AVON HIGH SCHOOL

Tanner Klockenga Martin Ryan Agriculture Scholarship

ALLEMAN HIGH SCHOOL

Katherine Rector D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Scholarship Quentin Fonseca D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Scholarship

BLACK HAWK COLLEGE

Omar Rubalcava Vietnam Veterans Scholarship Quad Cities Chapter 299

HOME SCHOOL

Thomas Potter Clement T. Hanson Scholarship

IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY

Sheridan Hank Ina Duncan Banks Memorial Scholarship

MOLINE HIGH SCHOOL

Lillian Oswald Chris "SPEY" VanSpeybroeck Memorial Scholarship

Abby Comp Clement T. Hanson Scholarship
Fatoumata Bah Clement T. Hanson Scholarship
Nabila Saam Clement T. Hanson Scholarship

Bennett Glessner Dennis Armstrong Scholarship = Bass Fishing

Anandi Hoogheem Dolores A. Hulse-Dilulio Scholarship

Maranda Bargren Hazel Van Arsdale Memorial Scholarship

Jaqueline Raya Jack Dye Scholarship

Maranda Bargren Lee McAllister Memorial Scholarship

Macyn Walston Lee Womack Scholarship Fund

Macyn Walston Maggie Webb Scholarship

Abby Comp Moline High School Class of '59 Scholarship

Bradley Griffin Moline High School Class of '59 Scholarship - Trade Hunter Warren Moline High School Class of '59 Scholarship - Trade

Jack Curnyn Moline High School Class of '65 Scholarship
Bennett Glessner Moline High School Class of '65 Scholarship

Carver Banker Moline Kiwanis Charitable Foundation Scholarship

Brock Dzekunskas Ronald Inskeep Scholarship - Baseball

Janice Tsogbe Srikanth Yerra Memorial Elle Spence Stan Woods Scholarship

SHERRARD HIGH SCHOOL

Kyla Elsbury Sherrard Academic Foundation Scholarship
Hailie Shemek Sherrard Academic Foundation Scholarship
Carly Anderson Sherrard Academic Foundation Scholarship
Sarah Gibson Sherrard Academic Foundation Scholarship
Ryley Zippe Sherrard Academic Foundation Scholarship
Nathan Strandberg Sherrard Academic Foundation Scholarship

ROCK ISLAND HIGH SCHOOL

Kayla Rice Chapman Family Scholarship

UNITED TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL

Maya Avila Doug Reynolds Rotary Scholarship

"It is an honor and a pleasure to celebrate the achievements of the scholars, to work with the evaluators as they select the student most worthy of the award. The root of this success would not be possible without the donors and the legacy of the honored. The stories of these amazing students are memories for the future, forever." Krisan Steiger – Goodness Advocate / Moline Foundation

President/CEO of the Moline Foundation Paul Plagenz says, "The Moline Foundation is honored to partner with many generous donors whose philanthropic wishes are to help area youth with their academic and career aspirations. Congratulation to the recipients and best wishes."

New this year is a ceremony to celebrate the scholars:

Tuesday, May 23, 2023, at 6:00 PM Community Room - Rock Island Library 2715 30th Street Rock Island, Illinois 61201

The Moline Foundation will recognize these students' receiving scholarships on the Moline Foundation website and social media.

About The Moline Foundation

Founded in 1953, The Moline Foundation receives and administers charitable gifts for all citizens in a six-county region, including Rock Island, Henry, Mercer, Henderson, and McDonough Counties in Illinois and Scott County in Iowa.

Media Contact:

Name: Krisan Steiger, The Moline Foundation

Phone: (309) 314-0807

Email address: ksteiger@molinefoundation.org